GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

Any Last Minute Suggestions/Advice for GT3 Track Day?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-05-2004, 06:35 PM
racer63 is on a distinguished road
Any Last Minute Suggestions/Advice for GT3 Track Day?

I've been racing for 8 years now, both at the amatuer (SCCA, NASA) and professional (Grand Am Cup) levels. But, as a DE instructor, I also believe that there is always more to learn.

I'm taking the new GT3 to the track for the first time (break in is completed) this weekend. So far, I've got the bars set slightly differently than stock (I went one notch softer on the front for more front end bite, less understeer, based on street driving seat of the pants feel).

I've got Corsa Rs installed and ready to go. I've got the RS19 brake pads installed, ready to go.

I've got the red mist in check.

I know I have a rear weight bias to deal with.

Other than that, what else do you guys thiink I should know about? (Besides the obvious stuff - don't crash, don't lift in the corner, monitor your brakes and tires, don't be a dumb****, etc., etc.)

How does the car handle on the track?

Are there any handling oddities I should be aware of?

Are there any mechanical issues with the car that I should be aware of? Like wierd noises that will freak me out and make me think I broke something? (Like the ticking noise from lifter foam in the M3, which is just normal...)

I assume that there's no concerns with oil starvation due to the dry sump????

Anything mechanical that is prone to failure?

Thanks in advance,

Old 11-05-2004, 08:00 PM
mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !mooty Is a GOD !