GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

997.1 GT3RS stability @ high speed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-01-2012, 03:30 PM
jaxxonR8 will become famous soon enough
997.1 GT3RS stability @ high speed

My car is new to me, or should I say I'm new to my car? I have had my car up in the 150's w/no issues (but not making any turns or lane changing) I'm used to being at speed as I've had other fast cars and live in a rural area and know many of the cops.

Ok, this time I ran the car up the the gears (mainly just to hear the sweet sounding exhaust) then, well I had an experience I did not expect. I was on a downhill section of a two-lane rural highway and came up on a slower moving car (really?) and had to go around the car (obviously) and my car felt very unstable and twitchy at around 135...

It felt as I almost drifted into the car I was passing. Were my steering inputs to drastic for this car or does it tend to be a sensitive car at high speeds? I'm the second owner w 5k on the clock and it does seem to be lower than stock and may have a race spec alignment, but I don't think so... I'm gonna slow down till I get this bear on the track and see whats up... J

Old 08-01-2012, 05:22 PM
MrChan is on a distinguished road
This car is very stable at speed (130mph+) when there is no dramatic input changes, on the track. It tends to affect by high cross wind more than some of the lower profile cars. The steering is sensitive to alignment, and off alignment makes the car drives funny. The NSX can have higher tolerance on mis alignment and the car still turn in nice and stable.

Old 08-01-2012, 08:13 PM