Panamera The 4-dour coupe by Porsche
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Panamera Owner - a few questions...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-30-2010, 12:27 PM
wassy is a glorious beacon of lightwassy is a glorious beacon of lightwassy is a glorious beacon of lightwassy is a glorious beacon of lightwassy is a glorious beacon of lightwassy is a glorious beacon of light
New Panamera Owner - a few questions...

Hello all. Been lurking on this board for quite some time. During this past week, I traded out of my 2009 Quattroporte for a Panamera S. I am thrilled to say the least. What an awesome car. By way of background, I've been a Bimmer driver for the best part of 18 years, all 5's and 7's including the E65 and E60. I had never been a P car lover as I've always needed 4 seats. When I test drove a 4S, my reaction was that it handles great, but from a start, it needed alot of effort, almost like stop and go was on, but not equipped on that car. Settled for an S, and couldn't be happier (maybe a turbo in the future).. I have a couple of initial questions, hope to get some clarity:

1. PDK sometimes, from a start, shutters just a drop. Nothing alarming, but not nearly as smooth as other gears.. is this normal? is there a software update for this?
2. Wheels/tires - got the Turbo I 19" with Michelin PS2. Nice. thinking of going 20" turbo II, but don't want to compromise ride quality the way it is. thoughts?
3. car equipped with Front/Rear Park sensors, but no camera.. this is one option I wanted.. hoping to retrofit it in. I have to imagine it's already prewired and PCM 3.1 is capable, just buy the camera, install, and perhaps have dealer reprogram car?
4. Bose stereo is perfectly fine. It is much better than the QP Bose, and a tad better than the BMW premium Logic 7. Burmester would have been overkill for me.
5. Looking for a proper ECU tune when available. Evomsit should have something soon, but looks like Porsche threw 'em all for a loop with the new ECU..