Wheels/Tires
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Powder Coat or Paint Wheels?

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 05-13-2007, 06:18 PM
NightStorm is on a distinguished road
Powder Coat or Paint Wheels?

Hi all,

Powder coat or paint wheels?

Which do you prefer and why?

What are the negative and positive parts for each method?

I am new to this aspect of the wheel game and would like input from those who have prior experience in it.

Thanks.

Old 05-13-2007, 09:24 PM
simon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to beholdsimon is a splendid one to behold
I'd paint. Someone here once warned me that powder coating exposes the wheels to temperatures they were not designed to handle and can cause weaknesses.

Old 05-19-2007, 03:45 PM
RocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant futureRocC4S has a brilliant future
Painting is much easier. Powder coating is a ***** to repair if you curb or damage your wheel.

Old 06-15-2007, 12:09 PM
Seven77 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Painting Wheels

If you paint 2 stage make sure to apply ample clear coat so future scratches can be wet sanded and buffed out. Make sure to use a reputable shop that knows how to properly prep aluminum.

Old 06-15-2007, 09:13 PM