997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

A liter of oil every 1,000 mi for a 997.2? And what's that burnt rubber smell?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-22-2009, 05:30 PM
chowyunfatnd will become famous soon enough
A liter of oil every 1,000 mi for a 997.2? And what's that burnt rubber smell?

OK Bear with me here... I love driving my 911 but I'm new to serious cars and driving, so here are a couple of dumb questions from an overprotective owner

Question 1) I've had my 997.2 S PDK for 4 months / 1500 miles now.. still love it as much as I did the 1st day off the lot :-) . I bought it used with about 7k miles (dealer driven car) so it was already broken in.

I just took it on a 900 mile round trip out of state, and 400 miles in, the "check oil level, it's low" (forget wording) message came on. I then ran the computerized oil level check, and it was below acceptable (it was at the lowest of the 5 levels... the 3 middle levels are all in the acceptable range). Also at 5k RPM the pressure was only 3 bar (the manual said it should be 3.5 bar minimum at this rev range).

The manual said only add .5 qt at a time, so I added a half quart (then checked, still low), added another half quart (still low!), and finally the third half quart put it into the lowest of the 3 "acceptable" levels. Now at 5k RPM it was above 4 bar so everything seemed OK. The drive home was fine. The car never smoked or drove funny at any point or anything.

Is it normal to need to add 1.5 qts of oil for 1500 miles? I definitely fit into the "spirited driving" driver category (lots of Sport Plus mode, shifting at 6k RPMs, etc., I even did an autocross day in Sep.). I read on another thread that 1 quart per every 1,000 miles is in the "acceptable" range of what a 911 should burn but since the car is a 2009 year model just wanted to make sure everything was normal with it burning this much oil.