GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

Sequential Shifter

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 07-28-2009, 11:05 PM
speedyellow4 is on a distinguished road
Sequential Shifter

Can somebody give me a dummy's explanation of what a sequential shifter does and its value. I've got basic car knowledge but things go over my head quickly. Thanks!

Old 07-28-2009, 11:18 PM
NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !NorthVan Is a GOD !
You can do no lift upshifting, as soon as your hand touches the shifter, the computer cuts the gas and you push forward and the car will shift to the next gear. You still need to use the clutch and heel toe for down shifting (by pulling back on the shifter).

GMG and FBL sells conversion kits.

Old 07-29-2009, 12:18 AM
mobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud ofmobonic has much to be proud of
Aw... so you still have to use the clutch, but inly for downshifting.

Old 07-29-2009, 02:21 PM
mousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nice
Originally Posted by NorthVan997C2S
You can do no lift upshifting.
Yes, that's a feature of a sequential gearbox but it isn't because of the sequential mechanism. H-pattern gearboxes (e.g. old MK9s that have been around forever) can no-lift shift. It is having dog rings that enables no-lift shift.

Old 07-29-2009, 02:22 PM
mousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nicemousecatcher is just really nice