996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Bad News: Accumulator job took 7hrs; Good News: Car feels great!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-30-2009, 01:56 PM
Scottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond reputeScottslaw has a reputation beyond repute
Bad News: Accumulator job took 7hrs; Good News: Car feels great!

O.k., before I recount my ordeal from hell, let me just preface this by saying that although I wouldn't even refer to myself as a "shade tree" mechanic, I am not a total noob either. I've performed all my own maintenance on every Porsche I've owned, and have tackled jobs ranging from rotors, pads, spark plugs and dv's on the Turbo, to alternator replacement, plenum install, and motor mounts on my carrera, to coolant tank replacement on my old boxster.

With that said, let me just say that this job was the WORST by far. Problem was that I could not for the life of me get the old accumulator off! I literally spent 5 hours wrestling with that peice of %&@! It was screwed on so tight I literally could not get it to budge. Compounding this problem was the fact that the orientation of the nut/boss on the accumulator was such that when the wrench was on it, I either lacked sufficient clearance to break it loose, or had absolutely no leverage (and could not fit a cheater bar of any sort). I finally succeeded by grinding down the head of the wrench to well below half its thickness (on both sides), grinding down the outside edges of the head of the wrench as well, and using copious amounts of pentrating lube.