996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

What's your criteria for selecting and independent shop?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-15-2010, 08:25 AM
S4Drifter will become famous soon enough
Question What's your criteria for selecting and independent shop?

When it comes time to have someone do work on my turbo, I really only have one choice that's within an hour of my house. The dealer is no closer. Yet, where I live, there seems to be a high demand.

A buddy of mine is therefore thinking of opening up a shop to cater to high end European vehicles. Not a tuner, just and independent shop. My question to you is this: What makes you choose the mechanic/shop you do? What criteria is involved in selecting the shop and more importantly, what would it take for you to try someone new?

I am a marketing guy by trade, but the best information always comes from the target market (you! ).

Thanks in advance for the input guys!

Old 07-15-2010, 08:32 AM
ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !ttboost Is a GOD !
A) Experience working on these cars. B) Cost. and of course, C) service, in that order. A reflects B, based on time. I would give a new shop a chance, if the cost was reasonable enough to "switch". Tough digs starting out now in this economy. Good Luck to your friend!!!

Old 07-15-2010, 09:14 AM
landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !landjet Is a GOD !