996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

GT2 Slave Conversion - Slave Failure

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-28-2017, 09:57 PM
Sourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to beholdSourcerock is a splendid one to behold
GT2 Slave Conversion - Slave Failure

Last winter I dropped my engine and trans to install a Wavetrac TBD, pin coolant fittings and complete the drill and tap GT2 conversion.

I've been running the upgraded sachs clutch , PP and LWFW for several years. These parts were in great shape except the TO bearing which was replaced.

I did all the work myself (except the wavetrac) on my lift. Followed the great DIY here and installed a new master, rubber hose, slave and fork. I clearanced the trans housing to ensure the fork would not bind.

I was concerned about the slave failing due to residual pentosin in the system (as experienced by several others). Used my motive bleeder and flushed three containers worth of soapy water thru the old master and green hard line into a bucket, followed by 2 liters of new DOT3. The new master, rubber hose and slave were installed after the flush cleaning. Ran some new fluid thru the system, done.

The conversion was working as advertised, one of my favorite upgrades.

Decided to go for a drive last weekend. A few miles out the clutch pedal hits the floor. I thought I was home free after over 6 months and several thousand spirited miles.

Dragged her home and up on the lift. No leaks or weeping, full reservoir. Has to be the master or slave. I will be pulling the slave to make sure the rod did not come out of the slave.

Has anyone else experienced a GT2 conversion slave failure after a few months of good operation? Any thoughts on the cause of failure ?

Old 11-28-2017, 11:30 PM