996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

New Guy on the Block.... (3) Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-13-2010, 04:45 PM
RACERDEN is on a distinguished road
New Guy on the Block.... (3) Questions

First post for me, just purchased my 1st 911; a pristine 996 Targa w/29K on the odo loaded with some very cool stuff. I lost my 944 Turbo (car fire) a month past and have now stepped up and enjoying every mile driven. Bear w/me guys, I'm new to 996's so here's my questions:

1. I have a Tip, and do miss the manual trans however sometimes it's a blessing in Los Angeles traffic. In manual mode will frequent downshifts/upshifts take life off of the trans or is it built for that?
2. I'm looking for a thermostat around 175F-ish and see that Pelican services the OEM 186F and some aftermkt job that's a 160F. Any comments on where I can locate the one I'm seeking?
3. On parts and repair instructions, what's your guys recommendations on the Internet? My 944T had a site called Clark's Garage which was pretty informative when it came to the "How To's"

Thanks in advance folks!
Denny

Old 10-13-2010, 06:03 PM
tarzancoe will become famous soon enough

1. I have a Tip, and do miss the manual trans however sometimes it's a blessing in Los Angeles traffic. In manual mode will frequent downshifts/upshifts take life off of the trans or is it built for that?