996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Looking for my first Porsche

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-04-2017, 11:22 PM
Vcap is an unknown quantity at this point
Looking for my first Porsche

Just like it says, I'm looking for my first Porsche to be a daily driver. I don't drive much, a couple days a week to work (5 miles each way) and around town on the weekends/days off. I've been putting between 7-9k miles a year on my current BMW. I've landed on a 996. Sure I'd like an air cooled but for the money and being a daily driver I don't think it's the best fit. And a 997 is twice the price of a 996. From everything I've read it seems like the logical starting point. They seem to be a good value right now. I do understand they come with some basic issues: IMS, RMS and they look terrible (some people's opinion)
My first question: why is it that KBB is no where in the ball park of what people are asking for their used 996? I figured a car with around 65000 miles would be low for a car that is 15-18 years old. KBB says around 15k for a car in very good condition with that many miles. And if it has 75000 miles more like 13k. From what I'm seeing people are asking at least 10k more than that for a low mile example.
Question 2: other than extensive service records/carfax if available is there anything that I need look for? Also how many miles should I be looking for before it's too much and not worth it?
Question 3: C2 or C4 or C4S? Seems like the c2 is probably a safe bet for my use? Also KBB says C4 values are lower than C2?

Thanks in advance!

Old 08-05-2017, 11:21 AM
turb0 is an unknown quantity at this point
same here, but torn between early 70s 911s, 996tt and 997tt.

Old 08-08-2017, 07:37 AM
vwtdi is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm in the exact same boat as Vcap.