Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Reality of driving an AM as a non-manual driver

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-02-2017, 03:20 PM
Swisstrek is an unknown quantity at this point
Reality of driving an AM as a non-manual driver

I've been researching AMs for the last several months. My heart is set on a Vantage or DB9 but nearly all reviews suggest that these cars are better suited for manual drivers. Unfortunately, I learned to drive on automatics and have had a succession of German cars since then. Is it more rational to give up on my dream of owning an Aston Martin due to my lack of technical prowess?

Last edited by Swisstrek; 09-02-2017 at 03:22 PM.
Old 09-02-2017, 04:42 PM
oldfool is on a distinguished road
No the DB9 is an auto and the Vantage sport shift only takes a few days to master. I have a 2012 Vantage s and I like the sport shift.

Old 09-02-2017, 05:00 PM
sonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud ofsonies has much to be proud of
DB9 Automatic is a ZF 6 speed in older ones, its like any other car... Vantage on the other hand is the Automanual called Sport Shift and is much different

Old 09-02-2017, 05:22 PM
blue2000s is a jewel in the roughblue2000s is a jewel in the roughblue2000s is a jewel in the rough
Or you could spend a couple days learning to drive a stick and really enjoy driving like you never knew you could.

Old 09-02-2017, 06:05 PM
SheriffDep is a name known to allSheriffDep is a name known to allSheriffDep is a name known to allSheriffDep is a name known to allSheriffDep is a name known to allSheriffDep is a name known to all
Originally Posted by Swisstrek