Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

2011 Rapide Battery Drain

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-23-2021, 04:31 PM
Astonwalla is an unknown quantity at this point
2011 Rapide Battery Drain

All,
Recently bought a minty 33k mile 2011 Rapide about a month ago. I'm new to AM.
The battery drains after the car sitting for only four days. The battery was replaced within the last 12 months by the previous owner.
I've read that the alarm sounder can often be the culprit, because of the 5-7 year life of it is internal battery. I tried locating the fuse for the alarm system but to no avail.
Any help on fuse location and location of the sounder unit (in the event its bad and needs replacing) would be most appreciated.
In fact, any help whatsoever would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

Old 11-23-2021, 08:09 PM
convexproblem will become famous soon enough
4 days sounds to me like the battery is dead. These cars came with massive batteries from the factory.

Old 11-23-2021, 08:13 PM
61mga will become famous soon enough
i might consider charging the battery and then test for a parasitic drain. youtube has a few videos on how to do it. although any service center worth its salt should know how to do it. just takes a few minutes. all that's needed is a multimeter. finding out where it's at is where the difficulty lies, assuming you have one.

of course if a new battery is needed (it's easy enough to test. again, see youtube) one could be installed and see if it fixes the problem.

Last edited by 61mga; 11-23-2021 at 08:17 PM.
Old 11-24-2021, 05:35 AM