Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster, Boxster S, and Cayman discussion board.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Summer tires

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-18-2015, 11:11 AM
pal joey is on a distinguished road
Summer tires

greetings.....

im looking to pick up a porsche. i was looking at c.p.o. 911 first but all have summer tires. i cant find all seasons except for 18 inch boxster.

if i dont go with all season im considering running summers year round.
i dont want summer and winter tires, because of cost, storeage, and swapping them out twice a year and dont want to park my car for the winter. i know all season would reduce performance, but im willing to accept that.

i have never had summer tires, and so i have no experience with them.
im looking for those who lives in areas where temps drop and who run them year round with limitations.

putting the car away for 4 to 5 months, or buying , storing, and twice a year swapping out a second set is not gonna work for me, as i clearly dont have the tolerance for either of those choices

im retired . i dont have to drive , i drive when i want. and when i do i average only around 4,000 miles per year .the porsche wont be on the road in any snow or wet road conditions when the temps are low.

im looking for info on how summer tires would perform under those conditions. colder temps, dry road , no highway driving, local streets with speeds under 30 mph. anybody been there done that?

yesterday i was speaking to a guy in my old firehouse . he has a c6 vette that came from the factory with summers. he used the car year round here in n.y.c. with limitations like i stated above . when they wore down he went with all season.

Old 08-26-2015, 03:53 PM
matt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to allmatt2ace is a name known to all