Cayenne 955/957 Porsche's SUV up to 2011. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

CPO sanity check

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 12:47 PM
Camp is on a distinguished road
CPO sanity check

I'm fairly new to Porsche, specifically dealers, so I apologize if this comes off as crying or this is just too long of a story for you.

After significant searching, I found an '08 CTT that met the criteria I had set out with to find my wife a new car. I bought a CPO from an out of state dealer and had it shipped to me. It had just 28K miles and we were excited. We off loaded it from the truck and took possession. As soon as we drove it, it had a bit of a weird whining sound associated with rpm that I couldn't place, not a turbo whine. I figured I was being overly picky since the car was new to me and I was just listening for what wasn't really there so, we drove it for a week.

About a week or so after we got the vehicle, I got a follow up call from the dealer. I was on vacation so he left me a message, saying he wanted to get me set up with a dealer close to me because they were getting a noise out of the alternator when loading it on the truck and wanted me to get it checked out. That seemed strange to me as I didn't expect to buy a CPO'd car and immediately have to take it in for warranty work as soon as I got it. Also, for reference, the car had about an additional 200 miles on it from the pictures of the odometer that I purchased it from to when it showed up at my location. I didn't think much about it at the time.