Cayenne Turbo All Cayenne Turbo model topics

2008 Cayenne TT - excessive oil consumption

Old 05-29-2018, 11:11 PM
pvanosta is just really nicepvanosta is just really nicepvanosta is just really nicepvanosta is just really nicepvanosta is just really nice
2008 Cayenne TT - excessive oil consumption

My CTT is 2008, with 65,000 miles on the clock.
Recent maintenance included new spark plugs and new coils after a 'misfire cylinder 8' error a couple of months back.

Now a new issue develops. The best I can explain it is this: when I 'engine brake' (lift my foot off the accelerator while in gear, such as when going down a hill) and at the bottom of the hill I get back on the gas, there is a brief hesitation followed by a huge bellow of blue smoke from the exhausts. Every single time. It's as if the 'under-pressure' during the engine braking forces/sucks oil into the combustion process (I'm no mechanic, so forgive me if this sounds ignorant).

This results is an oil consumption of 2 quarts per 500 miles when driving in hilly country.

There are no error codes.

Any idea what I am looking at? Is this something that could be caused by a defective/leaky air-oil separator? Something else?

​​​​​​​Any suggestions are welcome.
(also asked this question on Rennlist)

Old 05-30-2018, 06:01 PM
Zuffenhausen955 will become famous soon enoughZuffenhausen955 will become famous soon enough
You may have a bad PCV check valve. The orange diaphragm inside gets "scalloped" edges, due to globs of hot oil sludge passing through. While you are at it - check inside the Air-Oil-Separator outlet tube for oil film. It should be dry. Engine braking causes excessive positive crankcase pressure and if the valve seals are too far gone - the blowby will force oil thru the piston rings, and burned via the intake.