Other British Cars Jaguar, TVR, Rolls Royce, Morgan, Caterham, Noble & Range Rover

Debating the purchase a Defender 90

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 12:37 PM
wilbur760 is on a distinguished road
Debating the purchase a Defender 90

I have always loved D90's and found a good deal on one locally. I am new to Land Rovers and know the D90 is a specialty vehicle so I wanted to reach out to the group.
  • Is there anything specific I should be looking for?
  • Are there any common problems or failures I should be concerned about?
  • Any ideas on the cost of maint or upkeep?
Any info would be great and I'll be sure to get some pics up as soon as I close the deal.

Old 05-03-2011, 03:33 PM
Raddy is on a distinguished road
Any update with this? I'm always in the market for a D90 as well. Specifically '97 in AA Yellow - anyone have that they wish to sell?

Old 05-09-2011, 07:59 PM
Paul K is on a distinguished road
Make sure you drive one on as many different roads as possible. They look cool, but they way they drive is 'unique' and may not be to your liking. 4.0 V8 is a tad prone to overheating when it's in the Discoveries, and is not the most powerful unit ever used. I recommend you take a browse over at Discoweb...

Good luck!

Paul.

Old 05-09-2011, 08:08 PM
Raddy is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Paul K
Make sure you drive one on as many different roads as possible. They look cool, but they way they drive is 'unique' and may not be to your liking. 4.0 V8 is a tad prone to overheating when it's in the Discoveries, and is not the most powerful unit ever used. I recommend you take a browse over at Discoweb...

Good luck!

Paul.
Thanks Paul

I've driven one around downtown DC, not exactly 'off road' by any standards but some of those potholes are close

Immediately I noticed the 'unique' = rough ride. Definitely not a luxury sedan but it didn't phase me

I'll check out Discoweb - thanks for the reference!

Old 05-10-2011, 01:06 PM