Can I handle a C2?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-13-2010, 09:58 AM
BeachBum1 is on a distinguished road
Can I handle a C2?

Hi Everybody. I currently have an 03 Boxster S and am looking to trade it in for a 964. I just love the look of the classic 911 but also like the idea of having dual airbags, ABS etc. Anyway, I have no other track experience other than 2 DE days recently. I really think autocross could be something I could get into based on my limited exposure. I hear the C2 is more fun on the track than the C4, but is it a beast that can be mastered(or at least tamed) with a little track time? The C4 sounds like it would be the safe bet but in the long run, not as much fun. This would be a 3rd car used just on weekends and track days so AWD is not as big a deal for me from an inclement weather standpoint. I have seen the two threads on C2 vs C4 but I was wondering if someone could address the ease(or difficulty) of becoming proficient at driving the 964 C2 on the track/autocross.

Thanks,
Greg

Old 07-16-2010, 01:47 PM
canada964 will become famous soon enough
without question for the track or racing in general especially if you intend on doing a little racer's driver ed., c2 is best.
lots of guys with driving (track experience) hang out on rennlist and you might best want want to have a look at that forum

Old 07-17-2010, 03:04 PM
Canada964,

Thanks for the reply. Did I see on another thread that you were planning on selling your 964? I may be confusing you with somebody else and, if so, my apologies.

Greg

Old 07-17-2010, 03:19 PM
no need to apologize greg, yes -wife & i are relocating back to tokyo in january (not economic to take the 964)....so its on the market ( will miss widebody tho' !).

good luck on your scout for a C2 coupe for the track...............

Old 07-17-2010, 09:24 PM
Canada964,