996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Need HELP! problems with my 996tt!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-24-2005, 09:37 PM
superfans is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Need HELP! questions re 996tt!

Dear everyone,

Hi, I am a newbie to this board. I really need some help here. Actually I am encountering some problems with my 996tt and am wondering if you guys can help me to find the answers.

Problems:

1. Ticking noise from the dashboard area - The ticking noise is not continuous. The noise from the dashboard area seems to come from some faulty electrical wiring or connections and is not speed related. It seems that if I turn off the A/C, the ticking noise from the dashboard will stop. The ticking noise only happened when the car is warmed up. Someone suggested that the noise may be from a bad A/C drop-out relay or a bad A/C heating fan or auxiliary cooling fan. Do you think this ticking noise may be from a bad cooling or blower fan which is located at the right front of the car (as mentioned in Q2 below, my car may have a faulty cooling fan).

2. Groaning/Moaning noise from the back of the right front wheel - The noise continues even when the car is parked/stationary (with ignition on). The groaning / humming echoing noise is from the back of the right front wheel near the fuel tank area. It creates a humming echoing sound like “Won ... Won ... Won ...”. This noise only appears when the car is warmed up. Someone suggested to me that the noise might be from a faulty fuel pump or cooling fan. Any views?