996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Any reasonable/affordable way to turn off rear O2 sensors?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-11-2012, 01:19 PM
Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !
Any reasonable/affordable way to turn off rear O2 sensors?

Hey guys,

I have a reflashed (Gemballa...older tune) 2001 Turbo and also a Durametric. I recently installed a cat-less rear exhaust and O2 sensor extenders. Despite having the extenders in place, the car is throwing the CEL for catalytic converter efficiency for the post-cat set of O2 sensors. Although this was to be expected, I was hoping the extenders would alleviate the issue...this was not the case.

Anyway, what are my options for having the rear sensors turned off? I'm aware of getting a tune that can do this of course, but I am already reflashed and my tune has been deemed 'safe' even on the cat-less exhaust. Is there any reasonable/affordable way to turn off these rear sensors without getting a full re-tune?

Thanks for your help!

Old 04-11-2012, 01:46 PM
Former Vendor
SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !SamboTT@ByDesign Is a GOD !
Steve, do your extenders have a reduced opening at the bottom? it will work if you go down to about 5mm. I have found that is what does the trick not just the length...

Old 04-11-2012, 02:21 PM