996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

Seating position-more room needed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 06:19 PM
manalex is on a distinguished road
Seating position-more room needed

Just signed on after spending many hours reading the various posts-excellent forum.

I've been shopping for a 2001-2002 996Turbo-I'm a virgin, this will be my first. Test drove a couple of cars and confirmed this is exactly what I've always wanted. However, I'm 6'5" and was wondering if the seat/seat brackets can be modified to sit back a few more inches. I assume that the modification will require removal of the rear seat-no big loss there, provided I can do something that makes it look as if there was no rear seat there to begin with.

I know there are tall Porsche owners out there that have successfully dealt with this issue without resorting to amputation.

Thank you for your responses in advance.

Old 07-28-2006, 03:29 PM
Anyone help?

Old 07-28-2006, 03:41 PM
stuka will become famous soon enough
Originally Posted by manalex
Anyone help?
1. Look for manual seats, they are lower. Also, they allow you to slide the seat all the way back before getting out, so you don't rub the side bolster and mess up the leather.

2. There is a Porsche factory option that lower the seat even further, I can't remember the part number, but any dealer that does a lot of parts order like Sunset can help.

3. The most obvious, get one without sunroof if you can find one.

Beyond that, there isn't much you can do that won't sacrifice a lot of comfort.

4. Most radical, GT3 seats without the cushion and with lower braket. This will put you very low to the floor. But the GT3 seats are not the most comforable in the world since it is one piece non adjustable. I do have them though.

It's too bad I didn't see your post earlier, I had a SY Turbo with manual seats for sale...

Old 07-28-2006, 03:50 PM