996 Previous model naturally aspirated Porsche 911 community. Discuss C2, C2s, C4, C4s, Targa and Cabriolets.

Sound System in the 996?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 04:40 AM
Obsideon is on a distinguished road
Question Sound System in the 996?

I've browsed around the forum and haven't found much information regarding upgrading the sound system. There isn't a Sound System forum that I missed is there?

Does anybody upgrade their sound system here? If so what did you guys get? I've heard that if you change something it might screw up the entire system so you have to change it all? (headunit, amp, speakers, etc) I'm pretty new at this so any help would be appreciated.

The reason I ask is that my GF got me an Alpine DVD-multimedia LCD headunit. I am really happy but now I have to worry about the concerns of getting it installed without any hiccups. Am I going to need a new amp? What about my existing parts, also I have the upgraded equalizer system (the panel with all the buttons like "Pop, Room, etc" and the other buttons like 'DYN'), do I lose all of that? (I never really use those buttons though) Would my CD changer in my trunk still work? Can I make it work with the new unit?

In need of help please! Thanks!

Old 06-19-2008, 07:00 AM
swift996 is on a distinguished road
Yeah just throw an intake on, no need for tunes.

Old 06-19-2008, 07:34 AM
Ubermensch is on a distinguished road
I would think a search should turn up plenty of results on upgrading your system. If not here, then try rennlist and renntech. To answer your question, the upgradability of your car depends on what's currently installed. Systems with MOST are pretty simple to upgrade. Try a search and if that doesn't answer your question post some details about your car and what you want to do.

Old 06-19-2008, 08:01 AM