997 Turbo / GT2 2006–2012 Turbo discussion on the 997 model Porsche 911 Twin Turbo.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Bears Transport

Offering informed input on Bose system.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-23-2009, 06:59 PM
john weires is on a distinguished road
Offering informed input on Bose system.

Hello. I have read with interest some earlier posts with opinions on the optional Bose system offered on most Porsche models. As this is my first post on this forum as a new owner of a 08 Cayenne, I don't want to come across as arrogant or uniformed in my following comments about the Bose system. So I will start out by pointing out that my background is 35 years of high end audio as well as playing guitar. My understanding of what realistic sound reproduction is all about, is, and should be expected to be very high compared to the man on the street.
I have had 3-4 other Bose systems in GM vehicles as well as several premium systems in BMW's. The Bose systems in both of my Corvette's (01 & 07) were TERRIBLE to the point of unlistenability. The Bose system in my 2004 Chevrolet pickup is surprisingly GOOD with smooth tonal balance and freedom from resonant peaks. This was a small shock to me as most of Bose's consumer products to insiders in my industry are considered to have truly laughable engineering and a reputation to match. Although the BMW systems have a different personality than the Bose in the Chevy pickup, they are decent but still have toned down versions of the same problem that effects the Cayenne Bose system.