Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

Aston Service Costs Are Ridiculous

Old 08-26-2011, 10:58 AM
CTP855 is on a distinguished road
Aston Service Costs Are Ridiculous

I'm probably stirring the pot with this post, but the cost of servicing an Aston Martin at a dealership is extremely expensive to say the least. Prior to buying my car I did alot of research, so I knew what the costs were coming in....no surprises. Nonetheless, being a former mechanic myself, I can tell you the prices are very inflated. I purchased an extended warranty with my car, so I'll bite the bullet for oil changes while its under warranty, so there is an official record with Aston Martin. Once the warranty expires, providing I still own the car, I will take it to an independant service shop at considerably less money.

Realistically, service and repairs are more expensive at any dealership, as service departments are a big source of a dealers revenue. My neighbor just had some transmission problems with her GMC Yukon that was just out of warranty. She took it to the dealer and the cost was about $3K for the fix. All cars can be expensive to service and repair, but Aston service prices are ridiculous for what one gets. Because the car is exclusive, doesn't mean owners have to get hosed for service and repairs.

Let me say, this is my point of view as a former mechanic in my younger years, and I have some idea of what it requires to service a car, and the costs associated with it. I'm interested in what the members of this very informed forum feel about service costs.

Old 08-26-2011, 11:49 AM
CJPatel has a spectacular aura aboutCJPatel has a spectacular aura about
Service costs are definitely a bit on the high side. Some things like a yearly service for $1500 is stupid considering they only change the oil and "check" everything. I am ok for paying that amount as long as they change out all the fluids, and the oil change by itself costs $400!