Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

DIY Air Oil Separator

Old 04-02-2012, 11:39 AM
telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !telum01 Is a GOD !
DIY Air Oil Separator

Disclaimer: I am not a professional mechanic and am not liable for what you do! I'm offering this information as a way to help guide you and do not guarantee in any way that it is the proper method of performing this work, nor do I guarantee that it will solve any problem that you have.

Lately our leaky air-oil separators (AOS) have been a hot topic, so here's a quick guide to replacing it.

Quick note: I have to apologize as I've been saying that I bought an AOS from a dealership for $26. I don't know where I got that number, because I just checked my invoice and it was $48.36.

What you'll need:
New AOS
8mm socket
1/4"-drive ratchet
Short extension
Blunt-nose pliers (or similar)
Paper towels (maybe)
10-15 minutes

First, make sure you let your engine bay cool off if you've just been out driving. It is also a good idea to have a paper towel or two handy in case you drip any oil. I did not need one when I installed my new AOS, nor did I need one just now when I pulled it to take the pics below. But it's better to be safe than sorry!

Here's the location of the AOS:

If you pull up on the hoses above it, you can look at it from the driver's side of the car and see the whole AOS and the 8mm bolt that is holding it in place.

Next, remove the 8mm bolt entirely and set it aside.
With the bolt removed, you can move the AOS around quite a bit - the hoses have lots of flex in them. This will allow you to move the AOS however you need to so you can use your pliers to remove the two hoses that are attached to it.

Use the pliers to squeeze together the tabs on the hose clamps and work the clamps an inch or two down the hose.