Cayenne 958 Porsche's 958 SUV. Cayenne, Cayenne S, and Cayenne Turbo message forum.

A Difficult Choice for a new Cayenne owner...

Old 06-26-2015, 03:03 AM
2FAST! is on a distinguished road
Unhappy A Difficult Choice for a new Cayenne owner...

Hi guys,

I am new to Porsche. I have read alot of the threads here and was planing to make my delivery post (happily). I ordered a new 2016 Red Cayenne GTS from the local dealer. It is actually a car that they have in stock. Went through the deposit and documentations and was expecting to pick it up yesterday.

I was informed that the car did not pass their Pre-Delivery Inspection. There was an engine error code. After further investigation, they said it is related to the Tappet of the engine and the part has to be replaced. I do not have any further details on the failure.

Now I am faced with a difficulty choice. I have the following options:

1. They ordered the parts from Germany and will fix the car after receiving them (May take 2-3 weeks or less he said). Then deliver that car to me and give me an extra year of factory warranty up from 2 years to 3 years as a compensation/confidence booster.

2. Pick another Cayenne GTS from their available stock. I can only find a similar one in White color which I like alright BUT it has no Air Suspension. Is this going to be important for me? I do not Tow nor do major off road driving. There aren't that many portholes around here and I think the stock max ground clearance of 204mm is Okay. The PASM is stock on all GTS.

3. Custom Order one and wait months or cancel the order and forget about the Cayenne.

Thanks guys. I appreciate your input in advance.

Last edited by 2FAST!; 06-26-2015 at 03:07 AM.
Old 06-26-2015, 03:10 AM
Matt911 is on a distinguished road