GT3/GT2 Performance and Track Discussion on the Porsche GT3 and GT2

How to drive a GT3 (or other 911) fast?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-21-2007, 05:27 AM
rja
rja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of lightrja is a glorious beacon of light
How to drive a GT3 (or other 911) fast?

There countless threads on what folks can do to improve their cars, etc., but a recent tread involving wrecked GT3s and poser drivers, etc., got me thinking that perhaps a thread on what folks can do to improve their driving could be helpful. Please don’t interpret this to be another greater than thou “you should all focus on improving your driving instead of improving your cars” thread. Even though I have roughly 10 years experience in high-performance driving, 8 of them road racing, I have very little experience involving cars with rear engine configurations. In fact, let’s just say I don’t know $hit.
I’d love to hear any driving tips from folks with extensive or, preferably, racing experience behind the wheel of a 911. For example:
1) General Dos and Don’ts when driving the 911.
2) What makes these cars bite outside of just doing something generally stupid? I’m particularly interested in the GT3 here.
3) Differences in performance driving techniques between the 911 and cars having a 50/50 weight distribution (or very close to it).
Thanks in advance for any tips, etc.

Old 12-21-2007, 05:38 AM
JoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud ofJoeyG has much to be proud of