996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

any special tools to do brakes

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-31-2008, 05:19 PM
wowgogs is on a distinguished road
any special tools to do brakes

I am thinking about changing my own rotors and pads on my 2002 996TT
I have never done them before on a Porsche, done many on other vehicles thou.
Is this smart? Do I need any special tools? Do the calipers push in with clamp or do I need a special tool to turn them in.

Thanks

Old 12-31-2008, 06:12 PM
SeattleDL is on a distinguished road
here's what i needed

I upgraded to the UMW brakes (which are incredible on the track) and needed:

A 10mm Hex key (old caliper bolts)
A T55 Torx bit (new caliper bolts)
A flare end wrench 10mm
Anti Seize compound

good diy on either rennlist or renntech, can't remember which

dave

Attached Images   
Old 12-31-2008, 08:57 PM
do calipers just push in with clamp?? or turn in with tool

Old 01-01-2009, 02:41 AM
MGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to beholdMGS996TT is a splendid one to behold
I think Dave has covered everything....I fitted my big brakes (UMW sourced) just before Christmas....yes pistons just push back.

Old 01-01-2009, 06:08 AM
Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !Mikelly Is a GOD !
Since you're not replacing calipers, this job is very easy. The only other items not listed that I'd recommend are some long Zip ties (You'll use these to hold up the caliper and zip it to a suspension point while removing the rotor) and a piston compression tool from any parts store: