997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

Tiptronic Shifting Issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 11:24 PM
sn66p is on a distinguished road
Tiptronic Shifting Issue

Hello all. I've been putting thru my '07 C2S-tip thru it's paces for about 5 months now. It's been a learning experience, but great nonetheless. I bought a tip so my wife could enjoy the full porsche experience as well (well I had to).

My question / issue is with shifting in the tiptronic. A few times I have noticed that if I floor it at WOT, the tip will not shift into the higher gear and bounce off the rev limiter. I believe it was 2nd to 3rd gear I noticed this. I do have a sport chrono model, but I was in normal mode. I purchased this car used with local dealer inspection, of course. Does anybody have a comment about this? I plan to take it into the dealer this week.

Old 05-26-2009, 12:34 AM
swajames will become famous soon enoughswajames will become famous soon enough
Originally Posted by sn66p
Hello all. I've been putting thru my '07 C2S-tip thru it's paces for about 5 months now. It's been a learning experience, but great nonetheless. I bought a tip so my wife could enjoy the full porsche experience as well (well I had to).

My question / issue is with shifting in the tiptronic. A few times I have noticed that if I floor it at WOT, the tip will not shift into the higher gear and bounce off the rev limiter. I believe it was 2nd to 3rd gear I noticed this. I do have a sport chrono model, but I was in normal mode. I purchased this car used with local dealer inspection, of course. Does anybody have a comment about this? I plan to take it into the dealer this week.
If you disable PSM the tip will not automatically upshift but will bounce off the limiter as you describe.

Old 05-26-2009, 05:54 AM