997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

RPM per gear

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-02-2012, 08:59 PM
doc1911 will become famous soon enough
RPM per gear

I'm new to my 997.1 C2S. What are the optimal gear per RPM ratio both for track/sport driving and daily cruising? Thanks

Old 11-02-2012, 10:44 PM
soccerTOOLsu is on a distinguished road
Keep it above 3000 rpm and below redline.

Next question?

Originally Posted by doc1911
I'm new to my 997.1 C2S. What are the optimal gear per RPM ratio both for track/sport driving and daily cruising? Thanks

Old 11-03-2012, 12:14 AM
DoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond reputeDoninDEN has a reputation beyond repute
Originally Posted by soccerTOOLsu
Keep it above 3000 rpm and below redline.

Next question?
That's actually right. You don't want to lug the engine at too slow an RPM. The car has a rev limiter so you cannot rev too much while accelerating. Downshifting is where you have to be mindful. If you find yourself trying to figure out where you are shifting to, remember when the shifter is not in gear it will naturally fall between 3rd and 4th gear if you let it loose for a second. Play with it in your driveway while parked and it will become very apparent to you.

Old 11-03-2012, 07:29 PM