Aston Martin DB7, DB9, DBS, Vantage V8, Vanquish, and Classic models

V8V AC Compressor replacement Guide

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-09-2021, 01:19 PM
Aadil is infamous around these parts
Post V8V AC Compressor replacement Guide

Hello everyone, I thought I would share with you my experience in replacing the AC compressor. I am no mechanic but I do know the basics of a car. I believe that in order to truly appreciate your car, you need to get to know it from inside(wait that applies to humans as well )
This is for your educational purposes and if you know what you are doing and are comfortable, This is a very easy job.

Background: My 2007 AM V8V had the A/C compressor clutch burn out, After checking the electricals, I was confident that the issue was in the electromagnet in the clutch which caused a short and burnt out eventually. That being said, I was not able to find the clutch itself for the compressor so instead of trying to source a part and waiting without enjoying the summer, I found a California vendor who sells refurbished units. I got one for $650 and decided to "crack on" with it myself.

Sorry I did not take any pictures, My hands were super dirty as I like to work without gloves to be able to feel using my fingers.

Note: Make sure you have the old refrigerant properly evacuated by a reputed shop and at the same time check for leaks.(I had them check mine for leaks and didn't find any, so i had them add PAG-46 back to bring the pressure to 0PSI. Idea was to eliminate any chance of moisture being sucked back in when i unhooked the compressor lines)

Time taken: 5 hours (I took the opportunity to replace the FEAD belt and refresh the brake fluid)

Tools Needed: (Going off memory)
Flat head screwdriver
1/4 breaker bar/ accessory belt remover tool
size 6/8(Cant remember) and 10 sockets, Box wrenches
T35 bit for Radiator cover and Wheel well liner
Jack, Jack stands
stubby ratchet that fits the size 8 socket