Go Back  6SpeedOnline - Porsche Forum and Luxury Car Resource > British > Bentley
Reload this Page >

Bentley Continental GT/GTC/Flying Spur DIY Thread

Notices
Bentley From the original 3 Litre to the current Continental GT and Mulsanne

Bentley Continental GT/GTC/Flying Spur DIY Thread

 
  #46  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:42 AM
Indigo731's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
Indigo731 is on a distinguished road
I have Bentley CGT and she has a problem Rear Spoiler!

Does anyone know what could cause a malfuction in the deployment of
the rear spoiler? The light is on in the dash and the manual deployment does
not move it period. I shy away from further examination because it
may get stuck in up position. Help please.
 
  #47  
Old 04-13-2012, 06:57 AM
ExoticCarDriver's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 153
Rep Power: 21
ExoticCarDriver is just really niceExoticCarDriver is just really niceExoticCarDriver is just really niceExoticCarDriver is just really nice
Originally Posted by Indigo731 View Post
Does anyone know what could cause a malfuction in the deployment of
the rear spoiler? The light is on in the dash and the manual deployment does
not move it period. I shy away from further examination because it
may get stuck in up position. Help please.
Mine did this recently and it turned out there is a metal sleeve near the end of the wire rod had came apart. The metal sleeve had a tack weld that came apart. There is supposed to be a plastic piece that fits around this metal sleeve but it had failed which allowed the metal sleeve to separate. Because of this, the wire inside the rod on one side was binding. You have to pull the carpet off the inside of the trunk to access the motor and supporting hardware for the rear spoiler. Take a look and see if it is the same for you.

On a different note, if you can't figure out whats going on, you can unplug the rear spoiler motor and manually lower it on the torx bit screw located in the center of it. The light on the dash will be on but at least the spoiler can be retracted down.
 
  #48  
Old 04-13-2012, 06:14 PM
Indigo731's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3
Rep Power: 0
Indigo731 is on a distinguished road
Thanks so very much. I will look into it ASAP.
 
  #49  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:33 AM
djjoonie's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 146
Rep Power: 17
djjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nice
Thank you for this great thread!
Does anyone know if any of the VW phaeton's front suspension parts are compatible?
 

Last edited by djjoonie; 06-10-2012 at 02:04 PM.
  #50  
Old 06-01-2012, 09:22 AM
Wedgeduck's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 862
Rep Power: 42
Wedgeduck will become famous soon enough
Pretty cool. Great job compiling that info.
 
  #51  
Old 06-09-2012, 04:34 PM
djjoonie's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 146
Rep Power: 17
djjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nice
Here is how to disable the TPMS system and get rid of the light!

After a long research, I figured out how to disable the infamous TPMS Light.

First, pull the fuse #11 from the fuse box located in the driver side boot on top of the battery.

Next, get the Vag can bus scanner or ('v-checker' from ebay). V202 is what i got.

last, go to menu #19 from the scanner, hit coding, type in 0000006.
edited:
Originally Posted by montyfd View Post
Not always 0000006, just type in exactly the same, that was coded before.
TA-DA~ light is gone!

Make sure you always check the tire pressure and enjoy!!
 

Last edited by djjoonie; 01-10-2014 at 02:11 AM.
  #52  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:39 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 40
Rep Power: 9
montyfd is on a distinguished road
Not always 0000006, just type in exactly the same, that was coded before. That re-coding makes the gateway seach for all controllers active in the car. And as the TPMS fuse is out, the car does not see it and "thinks" the car has no TPMS system, so no warning lamp will come anymore.
For re-activating put in the fuse and do the same again
 
  #53  
Old 06-10-2012, 05:46 AM
stevenrmusic's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 2,733
Rep Power: 140
stevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond repute
Nice, thanks for the info!
 
  #54  
Old 06-10-2012, 02:02 PM
djjoonie's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 146
Rep Power: 17
djjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nicedjjoonie is just really nice
Originally Posted by montyfd View Post
Not always 0000006, just type in exactly the same, that was coded before. That re-coding makes the gateway seach for all controllers active in the car. And as the TPMS fuse is out, the car does not see it and "thinks" the car has no TPMS system, so no warning lamp will come anymore.
For re-activating put in the fuse and do the same again

Thanks!, btw it seems like you knew how to disable it all this time, just didnt tell us how.
 
  #55  
Old 06-11-2012, 03:50 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
bentleyw12 is on a distinguished road
Smile

Originally Posted by ExoticCarDriver View Post
Mine did this recently and it turned out there is a metal sleeve near the end of the wire rod had came apart. The metal sleeve had a tack weld that came apart. There is supposed to be a plastic piece that fits around this metal sleeve but it had failed which allowed the metal sleeve to separate. Because of this, the wire inside the rod on one side was binding. You have to pull the carpet off the inside of the trunk to access the motor and supporting hardware for the rear spoiler. Take a look and see if it is the same for you.

On a different note, if you can't figure out whats going on, you can unplug the rear spoiler motor and manually lower it on the torx bit screw located in the center of it. The light on the dash will be on but at least the spoiler can be retracted down.

Hello, Just wanted to share with you all, I had exactley the same issue. The black metal sleeve had come apart and so i ended up glueing it back together and putting some plastic zip ties around it. Its held so far (3 months and 2000miles of motor way driving)
 
  #56  
Old 06-11-2012, 03:57 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 5
Rep Power: 0
bentleyw12 is on a distinguished road
Red face Bentley Continental GT W12 - Heat Pump Valve Issue

Hello, Anyone had any issues with passenger side of the compartment blowing only hot air, even when you change the controls on the climate control, there seems to be no cooling coming through.

Did a scan on VAG-COM and nothin on there (apart from drivers seat inializing errer?!)

Someone pointed me in the direction of the heat pump valve, which basically has two actuators one for the drivers side and the other for the passenger side (Part No 3D2959617C). We believe this could be at fault - solunoid not turning valve to bypass hot coolent going to heat exchangers.

I've sourced the part, having it replaced soon so will report if this fixed the issue!
 
  #57  
Old 07-24-2012, 10:26 AM
stevenrmusic's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 2,733
Rep Power: 140
stevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond reputestevenrmusic has a reputation beyond repute
Quite a bit of info that covers the Bentley Continental GT, as the core of the car is a VW Phaeton.

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?1652232
 
  #58  
Old 11-16-2012, 08:59 AM
PMS's Avatar
PMS
PMS is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Thornhill, Ontario CANADA
Posts: 493
Rep Power: 30
PMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the rough
TPMS reset using VAS

Originally Posted by djjoonie View Post
After a long research, I figured out how to disable the infamous TPMS Light.

First, pull the fuse #11 from the fuse box located in the driver side boot on top of the battery.

Next, get the Vag can bus scanner or ('v-checker' from ebay).

last, go to menu #19 from the scanner, hit coding, type in 0000006.

TA-DA~ light is gone!

Make sure you always check the tire pressure and enjoy!!
"What function is menu #19? Is it the "CAN Gateway"? I am using the VAS 5051 diagnostics and wish to replicate what you have achieved. Thanks for any information
 

Last edited by PMS; 11-16-2012 at 09:05 AM. Reason: expansion of reply
  #59  
Old 11-16-2012, 10:24 AM
PMS's Avatar
PMS
PMS is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Thornhill, Ontario CANADA
Posts: 493
Rep Power: 30
PMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the roughPMS is a jewel in the rough
Cool

Originally Posted by montyfd View Post
Not always 0000006, just type in exactly the same, that was coded before. That re-coding makes the gateway seach for all controllers active in the car. And as the TPMS fuse is out, the car does not see it and "thinks" the car has no TPMS system, so no warning lamp will come anymore.
For re-activating put in the fuse and do the same again
I am using the VAS 5051 diagnostic system. Am I correct that all I need to do is to programme in the existing gateway code (Once the fuse is removed)? If so, I just need to figure out how to code the gateway using the VAS 5051.
 
  #60  
Old 03-04-2013, 10:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 22
Rep Power: 0
Marcus22 is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by PMS View Post
I am using the VAS 5051 diagnostic system. Am I correct that all I need to do is to programme in the existing gateway code (Once the fuse is removed)? If so, I just need to figure out how to code the gateway using the VAS 5051.
Not to rehash an older thread but does anyone know how to disable the TPMS using the Vas 5054/5051 as opposed to the hand held vag-com?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Quick Reply: Bentley Continental GT/GTC/Flying Spur DIY Thread


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.