996 Turbo / GT2 Turbo discussion on previous model 2000-2005 Porsche 911 Twin Turbo and 911 GT2.

New to 996 Market

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-12-2010, 05:30 PM
Legacy_NYC will become famous soon enough
New to 996 Market

Hello I am new to the market and looking for a 996 turbo, I have done my research but wanted to know from true enthusiasts and owners is there anything I should look out for in particular. Thanks in Advance! Sorry messed up the thread title

Last edited by GT3 Chuck; 09-12-2010 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Fixed title
Old 09-12-2010, 06:33 PM
OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !OS Inspector Is a GOD !
buy a car un molentested or with tuning from who you trust.

if you get a car with parts on it from a supplier who is known for bad customer service your setting yourself up for an interesting adventure.

the normal things, 2nd gear pop out , over rev data all these things can be found in multiple buyers guide thread though.

Old 09-12-2010, 10:29 PM
Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !Steve Theodore Is a GOD !
If you've done your research, there are no real surprises. Pay for a thorough PPI before buying and be aware of the "normal" issues as mentioned above (including rear spoiler malfunction, which is pretty common). They are solid and well made cars, but common sense still applies. Best wishes!

Old 09-14-2010, 08:14 AM
@l996 is just really nice@l996 is just really nice@l996 is just really nice@l996 is just really nice
Off the bat for my car when I bought it, it had the following "annoying problems"