997 2005-2012 911 C2, C2S, C4, C4S, GTS, Targa and Cabriolet Model Discussion.

!Wacky DME! How does this happen?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-30-2009, 05:13 PM
C2Spin will become famous soon enough
Question !Wacky DME! How does this happen?

Had a PPI and DME done at a P-dealer on an '06 C4S w/15,000 miles. PPI comes back in really good shape - tires, brakes, other mechanical and interior inspections look good.

However, when I looked at the DME - it was like WTF

There are no ignitions in any of the ranges:
- Range 1 = 0
- Range 2 = 0
- Range 3 = 0
- Range 4 = 0
- Range 5 = 0
- Range 6 = 0

But, wait, it gets better...

The operating hours counter reads 1.2 hours. There was another reading that said Total Distance = 54. Man, this just ain't right I say...but, then again I'm still learning.

So, I call the P-dealer that did the PPI and talk to a service advisor. He was aware of the car and knew the tech that performed the scan. He understands the DME well, so he tells me. So, I ask him about the range results and said, that doesn't seem to pass the sniff test does it? All he says is it is kind of odd, but I should talk to the dealer (independent that is selling the car). They are the customer and you should talk to them about. He all of a sudden got tight lipped. I asked him is a computer (ACU?) could be reset, or is it a new engine, and he started playing Colonel Klink on me.

My gut tells me to run...run...as fast as you can away from this deal.

But before I do, does anyone here have any insights as to how a DME could read like this? For a brand new car, maybe, but an '06 w/15,000 miles, I don't think so.

Thanks!

Old 10-30-2009, 05:30 PM
ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !ryem3 Is a GOD !